Anyone know about adopting in Brasil?

I am in Wisconsin, but moving to Brasil in 2014. My wife and I love the Idea of adopting at some point down there. I want to begin to learn about the process and find a cool agency. It doesn’t have to be Catholic, but would be cool. Id love any kind of knowledge insight or prayers.

God Bless,
Michael

Hi, I am from Brazil, living in the US
I have no personal experience with adoption specifically, but the general rule of life in Brazil is that everything is complicated, slow, very burocratic, extremely corrupt, very expensive, hard to get and dangerous. So probably adoption will be the same…
If you want to avoid the dangerous part, I would advise you to stick to catholic agencies only.
I’ve seen recently in the news there is a lot of child traffiicking at the moment in the poorer areas in Brasil. People that, in cahoots with the local child protection agents, judges and local police, produce fake court order to take the kids from their poor illiterate parents, then sell the kids to childless high middle class couples around the country. I wonder why those couples would take this route to buy a child if adoption was a simple process…The police officer who was investigating the case said it was a very widespread crime at the moment…
Welcome to Brazil and Good luck!

If you wish to adopt in Brazil prior to moving there and becoming a citizen, your best bet would be to speak to an attorney familiar with international adoption.

Man, I wish that didn’t sound firmiliar.
But that treachery is a new one to me. Some people go to such awful extremes to make money.
I will be in Brasilia initially and move to Espirito Santo (God willing). But stories like this is what motivates me to adopt (among other reasons).

Thanks for the advice,
Michael

Yes, but we will move first. That avoids lots of complications.

Thanks
Michael