Appreciation of Protestant Hymns

I thought I’d take this as an opportunity to invite Catholics to mention protestant hymns they personally like and admire but aren’t sung within the Church.

And I suppose I’ll go first by saying that I really love the Anglican hymn Onward Christian Soldiers, it’s very moving and it’s a pleasure listening to.

As The Deer

“Just As I Am Without One Plea”

Sing of the Lord’s Goodness

I believe it is Anglican

Great is Thy Faithfulness - I haven’t found any Catholics who know or have heard of this song. When I google it, it says its a Catholic Hymn, but we always sang it in my Baptist churches.

Now I’m confused. I cannot find this song attributed as a Catholic Hymn. Looks to be written by a protestant, but I know I saw it in some Catholic Hymnal. I’ll keep searching. I’ve been singing it since 1960 in Junior Church.

Hillsong! :smiley: Evangelical/Protestant contemporary music is really great.

“What a friend we have in Jesus”, “Up from the Grave he Arose”, “Fountain Free”, “Where the Soul never dies”, “It is well with my soul”…I’m a convert from the Church of Christ and the hymns are one of the few things I miss.

As a bluegrass fan most Protestant hymns are 100x better than most stuff I play at mass

Amazing Grace is my all time favourite hymn notwithstanding it’s reformed theological emphasis.

I also love And Can It Be by Charles Wesley. Other favourites are:

Be Thou My Vision
Thine Be The Glory
Great Is Thou Faithfulness
Guide Me, O Thou Great Redeemer
Abide With Me

Chant? As in Gregorian?

I’ve heard that one at Mass several times.

Personally, I could make a long list… I used to be a pianist at a local Baptist church.

Too monophonic and not what I play at mass

I suppose it’s good at a Latin mass or at a monastery. It’s just not the music I prefer. I’d rather listen to good ol American folk music.

Polyphonic motets by palestrina on the other hand, woah baby!