Appropriate Advent Kyrie Question

My parish choir that I recently joined is singing the Advent Kyrie by John Parker and David Lantz III. I want to know if it is an appropriate/correct response to the Kyrie for Mass. If it is not what are the supporting church documents and what would be a good way to approach the choir director or pastor to suggest something different? If it is an appropriate response what makes it so? Since I am new to the choir it is my understanding this is something they have done the past few years. Thanks.

The words are:

Ceiling of cedar, lamp stands of gold
bronze covered pillars, beauty untold;
Yet in the splendor of all we behold,
Our hearts llie barren and cold

Kyrie, we pray for mercy.
Kyrie, show us the way.
Kyrie, send us a Savior.
Kyrie, Kyrie, Kyrie

Sign of deliverance, glimmer of peace,
dreams of Messiah, visions increase
Father in heaven, give us a sign
Send your redeemer divine.

Kyrie, we pray for mercy.
Kyrie, show us the way.
Kyrie, send us a Savior.
Kyrie, Kyrie, Kyrie

If you are singing this as a hymn or anthem, there’s no problem. If, as I think you’re saying, you’re singing it during the Penitential Rite, then the problem is that you cannot sing tropes or other lyrics, you must sing the words that are in the Missal, which are Kyrie eleison / Christe eleison / Kyrie eleison, or Lord have mercy / Christ have mercy / Lord have mercy. If you need quotes from documents that state that you cannot add words to the Mass nor sing hymns out of turn, I can find them.

Out of curiosity, is there any place in this for participation by the congregation? Under ordinary circumstances, the Kyrie should not be reserved to the choir alone. That would probably be the best tack to take in suggesting that this experiment be dropped.