Are Catholic Churches not open 24 hours a day?

Just as the title says, are Catholic Churches not open 24 hours a day?

Tonight, i had a strong, sudden urge, out of nowhere, to goto the church.
why i really don’t know.

I’m still pretty new to Catholicism and all and i’ve been in RCIA for 5 months now, but i was under the impression that our churches are always open for people to come pray and find peace. Especially during the Lenten season.

So i just drove to two different parishes and they were closed and locked up. Is this normal at most parishes?

My parish has around 500 people attendance on sundays and we are, by no means, considered a small church.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you and God bless

It depends on where you are, but I think it is becoming the rule rather than the exception that churches (of all denominations) are locked up. I understand the frustration - I’m from a small town, grew up next door to my church, and am used to being able to go in any time. (And the Catholic church is never locked) But the reality is that people target churches for crime, so generally they get closed up in the early evening/evening - unless you can find a 24-hour adoration chapel.

I would strongly encourage you to find a 24-hour adoration chapel in your area. Then you can go at anytime to spend time with the Lord. But keep in mind that usually you need to get a key card or a security code for the door ahead of time for night-time entry. During the day a 24-hour adoration chapel is generally open.

Correct. Sadly so.

I have heard of parishes raising money for a security guard in order to keep 24 hour adoration.

Years ago, Catholic Churches were open for prayer all day. Today, our society is much too criminal for that.

My Lutheran church gives families keys to the church and the local Catholic parish also has a key-code lock on the side of the church for the faithful to go to the adoration chapel.