Are Catholics Using Contraceptives Excommunicated?

I have been following the ongoing debate over the HHS contraceptives mandate that many view as an attack on religious freedom. Once again on Fox News this morning a person being interviewed (sorry can’t recall the name) repudiated the idea that the mandate is an attack on religious freedom stating it is just a positive for women’s health. He then interjected as part of his argument that even Catholics don’t believe that there is anything wrong with using contraceptives since “75 percent of American Roman Catholics use them” in spite of what the Catholic Church teaches. That wasn’t the first time I’ve heard that argument and actually I have even heard that the percentage is must higher than 75 percent.

Last evening while reading the forums here at CAF I happened across one on the topic of excommunication and whether or not that is really relevant in modern times. I’m new to the Catholic faith, presently in the process of converting from Protestantism and will enter the Church during the Easter Vigil. As I am taking this all very seriously, I do my best to study daily so that I can acquaint myself with what Catholics believe. Excommunication is one of the things I know little about and so that is perhaps why I was interested in the topic.

In the post I refer to, one of those who responded to the original question noted that excommunication occurs as in two ways; Ferendae Sententiae (imposed after formal proceedings) and Latae Sententiae (imposed automatically) and provided the reasons under each. Under the list of reasons for automatic excommunication was apostasy, heresy, schism.
I researched those terms further this morning and found the following;

2089 Incredulity is the neglect of revealed truth or the willful refusal to assent to it.

"**Heresy **is the obstinate post-baptismal denial of some truth which must be believed with divine and catholic faith, or it is likewise an obstinate doubt concerning the same;