Are mentally retarded people guaranteed virtually assured of eternal salvation?

Assuming that a person is so severely mentally retarded that he can never reach the capacity of reason (and hence can never sin due to his invincible ignorance), is he virtually assured of eternal salvation?

Would it matter if he was or was not baptised?

Retarded or not, he has original sin. So baptism is certainly relevant.

As for personal sin - if he can’t reason, he can’t commit mortal sin. So it seems like yes, he would be certain of salvation if baptised.

First confession/communion is usually at about age seven, right? I’m no expert, but it seems like that level of retardation must be extremely rare. :shrug:

Being the sister of a severely retarded boy, I have seen enough to say that unfortunately, there are PLENTY of people who never do reach this age of maturity. :frowning:

Fair enough. I really don’t know anything about it.

God bless!

The only people that are guaranteed eternal salvation are those already in heaven. BUT, we would have to assume that one who cannot discern right from wrong and having been baptized (or maybe not as we are bound by God’s commands but He is not) would be saved through the death and resurrection of our Lord.

Virtually guaranteed salvation?? Only God can answer that and He will grant us that answer at our particular judgment…teachccd :slight_smile:

IMHO if born into a Catholic family then baptism is necessary for every born individual retarded or not. If born into other circumstances then God will take into consideration the life circumstances the individual was born into (atheist, Buddhist etc).

If the person never reaches the age of reason mentally then they will be judged by their personal circumstances.

Darn…

If only I was born mentally retarded…