Are real estate websites effective?

This question is posed to the real estate agents out there (or anyone with more experience selling houses than I have):

How effective are real estate websites in the overall marketing strategy? I ask because I’m not thrilled with the job my agent’s been doing, but don’t want to blame her for a slow market.

The majority of her marketing has been on online sources- her personal website, her office’s website, realtor.com, zillow.com, etc. She’s done no advertising in the area paper or held a single open house in the month and a half the house has been on the market.

I have little to no experience with real estate, and so I don’t want to be uncharitable in my dealing with her.

Is online real estate marketing really this effective that it takes the place of things like open houses and print ads?

I work in the Mortgage industry, and have several family members in Real Estate. I have also worked very closely with RE agents in helping them market their listings.

Open houses in my opinion do nothing more than build a database for the listing agent to market to at a later time. They also open your home up to nosy neighbors. As far as using websites to market your home, they do help for those who are looking to relocate ad can’t look for homes in person. They are pretty checap to use and certainly don’t hurt.

The problem though is that right now we are facing a huge slump in the market all accross the nation. I don’t know that there is any right way to market homes right now. You may just have to be patient until your home is recognized by someone as their future dream home. Don’t beat the agent up over it not selling. Ask your agent to share the average listing time on the market for recent sales. I bet it is quite long.

I’m not a Realtor… I have my RE license, though… but just haven’t taken it on as a “job” because of the current market.