Are the Old Testament Patriarchs Saints?

Recently, I became interested with celebrating "Name Days". I searched the net if my name, Jared, is also a name of a saint. I only found one source (saints.sqpn.com/)saying that there is indeed one, St. Jared the Patriarch, from Genesis 5.

I do know that certain biblical figures are considered as saints however, I do not know which ones. Jared the Patriarch is listed in the said website as a saint however, his father ?] Mahalalel is not listed as one (again in said website).

I also looked for Jared the Patriarch's entry in the Roman Martyrology (under the feast day indicated in the website) but I did not find his name. So, is he considered a saint?

May you please enlighten me on this? Thanks!

I know before I was confirmed into the Church my priest scolded me for saying "Abraham" from the Old Testament.. he told me to say, 'St. Abraham.'

So I guess so.. maybe someone else can give insight.

I am by no means an expert, but I believe if the saint does not have a feast set in the Martyrology, they are celebrated on All Saints Day.

Just my input.

The Byzantine Rite celebrates feasts days for many Old Testament saints - St. Elias (Elijah), and I do believe there is a day for Abraham and Sarah as well. Also, Habbakuk, Zephania, Daniel, Hananiah, Azuriah and Mishael. To name a few.

The Byzantine Rite Catholics are in full communion with the Church, so yes, there are Old Testament saints. Their calendar of feast days is different than ours, but is legit.

[quote="browebmaster, post:1, topic:324229"]
Recently, I became interested with celebrating "Name Days". I searched the net if my name, Jared, is also a name of a saint. I only found one source (saints.sqpn.com/)saying that there is indeed one, St. Jared the Patriarch, from Genesis 5.