Are there degrees of mortal sin?

Are there degrees of mortal sin? Or mortal sins which would merit more punishment?

Lying is a mortal sin. Rape is a mortal sin.

To me, an untruth (even if you were using it to justify the end of something) is bad, but compared against another mortal sin like rape? Especially a rape that was premeditated?

I have some work experience in criminal justice, and today’s workload has taken a toll on me dealing with all this crime stuff I process for a living :frowning: I’m just finding it really hard to believe that some mortal sins are worse than others.

Anyone ever thought about this?

I am going to do something very dangerous… SPECULATE!

Mortal sins drive God out from us. It kills us spiritually. The consequence is eternal punishment (assuming no forgiveness). I think when it comes to eternal punishment, there is no difference between mortal sins. They all have the same result.

However, Catholics also believe sins require temporal punishment as well, to be made up for in this life or after (Purgatory), assuming you’ve been absolved of the eternal punishment first. I would think (but have no basis for assuming) that the temporal punishment for a lie would be different than the temporal punishment for murder.

I hope we can get clarification from someone who has some study or reliable source in this.

Yes all of em are mortal but yes there are ones that are worse than others…

Yes. Most certainly.

All of em are mortal but yes there are ones that are worse than others…

(and note that lying (an untruth)- while evil and sinful is not necessarily mortal - an example of such mortal lying would be seriously hurting someone via the lie or lying under oath to God)

Murdering ones parents is going to be say worse than stealing $2000 …

etc

Yes, and degrees of punishment in hell.

Now that I’m off work I had some time to research, and I found this Catholic Answers link that advises that there are different levels of eternal punishment.