Are there Pharasees around today?

Or Saducees? Or Essenes?

It would be strange that all these groups would be outlived by Samaratins, wouldn’t it?

I was called a Pharisee once by another member who didn’t like my opinions on applause during Mass. :smiley:

I’m guessing you are an anti mass-applauder.

The Pharisses survived the destruction of the Temple and reinvented themselves as Rabbinic Judiasm. THe Judaism we know today is largely due to the Pharisses.

Well, I guess as long as people clap with one hand, it’s OK. :wink:

I’m still learning - can someone clarify the difference between these three?

A man in my Catholic bible study group called our Bishops ‘modern day Pharisees’. I knew it was slam, but didn’t know enough to respond.

While the Christian bible may villify Pharisees, they were really just the sect in Judiasm that was more concerned with study and making ruling than with the temple based aspects of Judaism. This is why they survived after the Temple’s destruction and became what is now known as rabbinic judaism.

Why would RC’s applause during your Mass? We frown on such things in the EOC.

Good question. I’ve been Roman Catholic all my life and I only clap after concerts and musicals and things.

Well, I frown on it too, but some people thinks that makes me a Pharisee.:wink: It only happens in the NO Mass, though, not the TLM.

I don’t know if the Pharisees exist per se, but Muslims tend to have a lot in common with their worldview.

Are there Pharasees around today?

yes, Muslims. It’s a fact not a comparision. The pharisee who believed in Jesus and who embraced gnostic and ebionitic teachings later became Muslims. It’s history.

Interesting …