Are works necessary? And thief on the cross

Hi guys

I need your help. For the first time I feel that I might have a good opportunity to lead someone into the Catholic faith.

It’s a lady raised in a Baptist community.

Long story short:- We got to a point in the discussion where she asked are works necessary for salvation in the Catholic Church.

I’m thinking yes. So I said yes but that I would check with you guys.

Then she hit me with the thief on the cross.

I’m sorry I’m not very good at this. Leading someone into Catholicism is very difficult, can someone help please.

When Paul rails against ‘works’, he’s often talking about works of the law – that is, those observances of the Mosaic law to which Jews adhere. However, Paul also notes that “God will repay everyone according to his works: eternal life to those who seek glory, honor, and immortality through perseverance in good works” (Romans 2:5-7). Moreover, when Jesus talks about the Final Judgment, His standard isn’t ‘faith’, per se, it’s works: “Come, you who are blessed by my Father. Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world… whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.” (Mt 25:34, 40)

So, clearly, works play a role in our salvation (and, by the same token, a lack of works seems to condemn a person – even a Christian who believes but only cries out “Lord, Lord!”). But, what’s that role?

Your Baptist friend is right – it is not an absolute prescription. The Church teaches that a person who is baptized but dies immediately thereafter, will go straight to heaven!