ASAP Wedding Woes!

Hi!

I would love some advice from you regarding my cousin's upcoming wedding.

Until recently she was a very strong practicing Catholic. She was a leader on various retreats and often spoke about how important the church was to her. Long story short, she met her fiance, and she changed dramatically, and has since left the Catholic church.

She announced that she is getting married, and has been boasting that her wedding is "pagan", something that I just don't find funny.

I am a professional harpist/ocalist, and she has requested that I play for the ceremony.

I am very torn, because on one hand I have a hard time standing by as a witness and showing support for her behavior and her blatant mockery my beliefs...

on the other hand, I am getting a great deal of pressure from the family to play for "family peace".

Does anyone have any advice? Or perhaps can help me see a charitable, yet uncompromising way of looking at this whole thing?

Thanks so much and God Bless!

You really are not obliged to play for someone who is mocking you, as you state, and all you believe in. Be true to yourself. If you had a totally unpressured free choice what would you do? That is what you do. Being a Christian is not about bending over backwards for someone who totally desrepects you.

I can easily imagine a scenario in the future where she returns to the church and looks to you for support and guidance. Make your choice after asking Jesus in prayer. You don’t have to provide the soundtrack to another person’s choices.

Spend some time before the Blessed Sacrament if possible, then do what He would do.