Asked to be Extra Ordinary Minister of Holy Communion

I could really use some words of encouragement and prayers. My husband and I have been asked by our pastor to be Extra Ordinary Ministers of Holy Communion. This is a great honor for us but to tell you the truth, I’m scared to death! I will be entrusted to hold/handle our Lord’s body or precious blood and thinking about it has me completely wigged out (for lack of a better term)!
:eek:

A little background on us. My husband is a cradle Catholic and I have been attending RCIA for the last 18 months or so. My husband finally received a decree of nulity for his previous marriage and later this month I will be baptised, confirmed, married in the church and receive first communion. We, obviously, cannot begin our ministry until all this occurs.

I have been longing for quite some time to be in full communion with the Church, but now am completely stressed out about the whole thing. I’ve even had some doubts creep into my mind. Do you think I could be under “attack” because I am so close to receiving the sacraments? :shrug:

I pray every day asking for the courage/strength to get through this. Your thoughts and prayers will be greatly appreciated. :gopray2:

my advice is one thing at a time, and ask the priest for time to reconsider his request after Easter, and after the mystagogy periode (which should be no less than until Pentecost). focus on the immediate work of preparing for Easter. and yes since especially in Lent that involves repentence, contrition and penance you will very likely be under attack, and good directors and catechists will be giving you weapons to fight it, namely the scrutinies and penitential rites, minor exorcisms, and the presentation of the Creed and Our Father. You will not be weaponless in the battle. These also reinforce what you should already know that the entire Church is praying for you and supporting you at this time.