Assalamu alaikum

I am new to this forum. I am a Sunni Muslim and I hope to have respectful discussions with people of all faiths while I am here. I am a student and I live in America with parents and siblings. I just want to say “hello” to everyone.

Welcome to the forums. As long as the discussion stays respectful on all sides we’ll be fine :slight_smile:

Perhaps you could begin by giving us a little idea of the difference between Sunni Muslims and Shi’ite Muslims.

I would be happy to try. Roughly 85% of Muslims are Sunni and about 15% are Shi’a. The division between the two occured after Muhammed, pbuh, died. One group felt that the Prophet had appointed Ali as his successor, while the other felt that he had left no successor. The group that followed Ali became known as the Shī’at 'Ali, or “party of Ali.” They are commonly known as the Shi’a. The other group elected the first caliph, Abu Bakr, as its leader. This group came to be known as Ahl ul-Sunna or people of the tradition. They are commonly called Sunnis. There are also differences over the Hadith. You can obtain more information by visiting here: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sunni_Islam and en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shi%60a_Islam

Hi Abdullah, welcome to CAF! Your voice is most welcome here, especially considering the strained relationship resulting from the Regensburg speech of our Pope. I hope you enjoy your visits here. :slight_smile:

:wave:

Welcome to the forums!

Welcome to our forums. I am sure you will find yourself asked lots of questions! I, for one, will reveal my ignorance:

Re Sunnis and Shiites, this difference you mention is viewed as fundamental to the faith? Why exactly do they fight about it? Do the two branches live in harmony in some places?

[quote=shirleytowers]Re Sunnis and Shiites, this difference you mention is viewed as fundamental to the faith?
[/quote]