Astrology as a muse, Mythology as literature

Before I start, I would like to mention that I DO NOT believe in astrology nor mythology whatsoever.

Now, my main issue here is would it be sinful to use astrology as a topic even if you don’t believe in it? I am a Visual Arts student and I’ve decided to make my theme the signs (libra, scorpio, etc.) Why? Because I find it to be an interesting creative influence. I can imagine so many pieces of art that could derive from those signs alone. Many people can creatively use references in art and literature such as “it has been stormy all day. Clouds turned day into night. It’s certainly Zeus’s day, rain filled up our sight…” There, you can see that Zeus was used as a literary reference to express how stormy it was. It does not imply that the author worships/believes in Zeus. Yet, so many modern Christians would say that it is sin.

Please take note once again that the reason why I am doing this is not because I believe in astrology, but because of art. And NO, I do not “worship” art. It is merely an interest for me.

Tolkien’s works (and those of his peers) were influenced by astronomy and mythology.

Popes have unearthed the ancient ruins of Rome and saw statues of the old gods as works of art as opposed to deities.

Michealangelo peppered his art with mythological characters.

I’d say you’re good. :thumbsup:

The OP states: "Before I start, I would like to mention that I DO NOT believe in Astrology…whatsoever."
WOW! I have heard several people say these same words, when they admit to reading their Horoscope each day in the newspaper.
“It’s just Fun to see how wrong it is.”
“I read it, and follow the opposite path.”

One does not need to BELIEVE in Astrology to be violating God’s TOTAL Ban on Astrology.
God, many times, warns His people to stay completely away from Horoscopists, and Astrology in general.
So, for a Christian, he should know that God absolutely does not him to use Astrology as a Muse.