Attending for the first time?

Hello, I’m not sure if I’m posting in the right place, but hoping to just get a little advice.

Untill recently (the past couple of months) i thought I was a happy evangelical anglican (in England) however, I have been studying the basis of many of my commonly held beliefs and have realised that they don’t stand up, so the further I studied it led me to look at Catholic beliefs and I am ashamed to say, so much of what I believed and was told about the Catholic faith just isnt true.

I have read and read almost constantly since I realised this, and Inow really want to find out more (including attending Mass) I have never stepped foot in a Catholic church and don’t know a single Catholic as all my friends and contacts are all of evangelical/protestant denominations, so I can’t just ‘tag along’ so to speak with a friend. I suppose what I want to know is, is it ok just to turn up and attend? or is there something else I should do?
I will admit that my recent uncovering of the truth as it were has come as something of a shock to me and I am finding it a little hard to believe that I am even considering this!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Thank you
Melissa x

Hi Melissa,

I can identify with you. I was raised a happy little evangelical Baptist, but once I started reading about the Catholic Church, I couldn’t stop. I did my best to go over every issue with my pastors, my parents, my friends, but none of them could satisfactorily answer the arguments for Catholicism that I had been discovering. I didn’t discuss my intellectual conversion process with a single Catholic, nor did I walk into a Catholic church during this time. I guess it was because I was afraid of being “swayed” by personalities or by architectural beauty or the lack thereof. It worked for me, I guess.

So yeah, you can just walk into a church and start going to Mass. In fact, I highly encourage regular attendance! Here are some things to remember: