Attending secular marriage of fallen away Catholic

My brother was married in the Church 25 years ago and had a civil divorce a few years later. He is planning to remarry outside of the church and did not seek an annulment. I will not be attending the wedding and I've told my parents that as practicing Catholics they can not assist or attend, but they have ignored my warning. What church teaching can I point them to that would enlighten them on this matter?

Thank you,
Tersila

I'm no expert but I don't think the Church has given an explicit ruling on attending or not attending invalid marriages. There's a more general statement on not giving tacit approval of sin, which attending the marriage could be seen as.

But in general people are asked to prayfully discern their level of involvement and I think the Church is very wise to not give a clear ruling on the matter. Attending a wedding may be seen as approval of sin. But not attending a wedding can split families and cement a negative view of the Church...sometimes permanently. Remember this is your sibling but he is their child. As parents they're dealing with a different set of emotions than you are.

I would take a glance over some threads here with similar topics especially in the "Ask An Apologist" section. This "should I attend an invalid marriage" comes up a lot in many different forms from the perspective of a variety of different relationships.

[quote="Kit15, post:2, topic:244814"]
I'm no expert but I don't think the Church has given an explicit ruling on attending or not attending invalid marriages. There's a more general statement on not giving tacit approval of sin, which attending the marriage could be seen as.

I would take a glance over some threads here with similar topics especially in the "Ask An Apologist" section. This "should I attend an invalid marriage" comes up a lot in many different forms from the perspective of a variety of different relationships.

[/quote]