Autism & Marriage

I'm a manager who works with special needs adults through a life skills program.

The two in question aren't catholic so it dosn't really matter in the end.

Neither of them will likely ever to be able to hold down a job that pays more than minimum wage. They can never drive. Its questionable that they could care for a child. However, they are both very intelligent....extremely high IQ's in some regard. And they're pretty good about following directions and operating within the rules of society. They have decent communication skills.

I'm curious if they could ligitmatly get married.

Impossible to tell from so little data and without examining the individuals anyway.

Basically as long as they are willing and able to accept a permanent relationship on an exclusive basis and ordered towards procreation and the good of the spouses and not ignorant of it and they don't have a *grave lack *of discretion regarding any of that, and they have the use of reason regarding such a choice, they would be okay under a minimalistic interpretation of the restrictions in canon law, I think, the possible exception being the care for the child, but even so, you still say it's questionable rather that impossible.

Since autism affects individual in such a varied way, and adults autists are at a wide variety of functioning levels, it's impossible to make a statement either way.

If they are more toward mildly affected or aspergers, I think it fairly common really, for those people to marry have children. Many people are autists, we just don't necessarily realize it.

[quote="purplesunshine, post:1, topic:182149"]
I'm a manager who works with special needs adults through a life skills program.

The two in question aren't catholic so it dosn't really matter in the end.