Bach & The Baroque Period

Do you have a taste for the Baroque period, namely its music?

I’m starting to acquire a taste for Bach, with “Wachet Auf, Ruft Uns Die Stimme” being a favorite organ piece of mine. I’m also partial to the sound of the Baroque-style harpsichord.

oooo no, just reading the word harpsichord brings back horrbile memories of having to listen to that kinda stuff at school, over and over again, and then getting the score, and then listening over and over and over again; Ugh the tingyness.
Sorry for your first reply being negative, I didn’t realise my harpsichord hatred was so strong :shrug:

I like Bach too! Tocatta & Fugue in D minor is awesome!

I like Bach.

As a young pianist, I had to learn the Bach 2-part Inventions. I always liked learning them–it was like working out a puzzle, and I always enjoyed playing them. I think they are excellent for young pianists.

However, at a music competition, I got dinged by a judge who said that Bach isn’t supposed to be played with dynamics. My piano teacher (who was actually an organist) said that the judge was an idiot, that back when there were only clavichords, Bach couldn’t be played with dynamics, but once the piano was invented, Bach COULD and SHOULD be played with dynamics.

And I was kind of caught in the middle of this debate!

So I learned at an early age that music is rife with controversy!

My husband doesn’t like Baroque music very much. He says that it has too much of a driving beat and is too frantic–hmmm…Bach/Rock–there really isn’t that much difference, is there?!

Love it! I played oboe and recorder in a Baroque orchestra for years.

Gearoidin

I read a comparison once between two Roman orators – when the first one spoke men praised his eloquence but when the second one spoke men said “Let us march”.

That’s how I feel about Baroque & Romantic music. Bach is so perfect I suspect he was a computer but Beethoven moves my soul.