Baha'i Returns Thread: Ask Any of Many Baha'i

The long-running Baha’i Thread has exceeded it’s maximum number of posts. If any have further questions, pursue them here.

Okay: I have one. Do the Baha’i have any insight on the Sikh faith, one of which I have limited knowledge and which frankly only occurred to me at all because of a new “Ask A . . . .” Thread?

Great question… there’s nothing formally about Sikhism in the Baha’i writings…

It is believed Abdul-Baha may have been referring to Sikhs:

*O ye, God’s loved ones! Experience hath shown how greatly the renouncing of smoking, of intoxicating drink, and of opium, conduceth to health and vigour, to the expansion and keenness of the mind and to bodily strength. There is today a people [1] who strictly avoid tobacco, intoxicating liquor and opium. This people is far and away superior to the others, for strength and physical courage, for health, beauty and comeliness. A single one of their men can stand up to ten men of another tribe. This hath proved true of the entire people: that is, member for member, each individual of this community is in every respect superior to the individuals of other communities.
[1 Possibly 'Abdu’l-Bahá was referring to the Sikhs; the description appears to apply to them.]

(Abdu'l-Baha, Selections from the Writings of Abdu'l-Baha, p. 149)

There was mention of a Professor Pitram Singh who became a Baha’i and was nearly killed…