Baptism and Confirmation in Another Church

While growing up I was baptized in the United Church of Christ. I also went through Confirmation Class and was confirmed and then able to receive Communion.

As a RCIA student, I know that when I join the Catholic Church I will not be baptized again. However, no one has ever mentioned confirmation or where or how it comes into play. Does anyone know the details of this and how it works?

Amie

[quote=BeluvdLily]While growing up I was baptized in the United Church of Christ. I also went through Confirmation Class and was confirmed and then able to receive Communion.

As a RCIA student, I know that when I join the Catholic Church I will not be baptized again. However, no one has ever mentioned confirmation or where or how it comes into play. Does anyone know the details of this and how it works?

Amie
[/quote]

Baptism when properly administered by anyone with the intent to Baptize is valid and cannot be repeated.

Confirmation is a separate Sacrament from Baptism.
Under normal circumstances Confirmation requires the authority of a validly Ordained Bishop in apostolic succession. A Bishop may when necessary authorize a validly Ordained priest to Confirm a specific person or group of persons on his behalf.

Holy Communion is only valid when a validly Ordained priest consecrates the bread and wine.

[quote=BeluvdLily]While growing up I was baptized in the United Church of Christ. I also went through Confirmation Class and was confirmed and then able to receive Communion.

Amie
[/quote]

You will have to be confirmed again. Usually that happens at the Easter Vigil (although it can happen at a different time i.e. Mine was at Pentecost).

PF

Amie
[/quote]