Baptists

I recently attended a funeral at a Baptist Church. I found it was a beautiful celebration of the life of the person who died. I found the prayers were lovely and easy to follow. I found the music a little…gospelly? Poppy? but harmless enough in any case. I felt like there was nothing I couldn’t join in with, although there seemed to be quite a bit they were missing out on.

There was no proselyting, most of the community know me and know I’m a bit of an amateur theologian. They seemed very happy to pray with me and that I was there. They were lovely, frankly, very open and very religious. We had nothing to disagree about to be honest, which I thought was really great! :thumbsup:

I was particularly interested that I was the only one making the sign of the Cross, even when we all said “In the name of the Father…etc” do Baptists not make the sign of the Cross?

No Baptists that I know of make the Sign of the Cross, as that as seen as too “Catholic.” As far as I know (I could be wrong) only more traditional branches of Christianity make the Sign of the Cross.

How bizarre, there’s no other reason?

I was first in line about to enter a pew at a Lutheran church, I genefluected and nearly caused a “5 person pile up” on top of my body.

LOL! That’s awesome! :thumbsup: I heard a story that you know the Catholics in a cinema, because they’re the ones who genuflect when they leave!