'Baptized' by grandmother?

I am currently a catechumen in RCIA after finally following through on my long held desire to join the Catholic Church. The process has been nothing short of wonderful so far and it has led to many great insights into my family history among many other things.

My background is that my parents (Dad Protestant, Mother Catholic) were not having me baptized as well as my two sisters. Apparently this came mostly under pressure from my late father who had fallen away from faith during that time.

Now during Christmas my wife and I were in Germany to celebrate with family. It was during that time that an aunt (sister of my mother) told me that my deeply devout Catholic grandmother ‘baptized’ me and my sisters in our earliest infancy, secretly on her own the first opportunity she could get a hold of us. My mother did not know about this although she always had joked over the years that my grandmother might have given us kids an emergency baptism. Now my aunt who is still a practicing Catholic when she heard about this confronted my grandmother and told her that from her perspective such a baptism would not be valid if not confirmed by a priest. My grandmother obviously just told her to let her deal with the matter that she saw fit. Now all this happened more than three decades ago and my grandmother passed in 1985, but I have no doubt that my aunt’s story is true and that my grandmother actually really felt a genuine urge in her concern over my sibling’s and my souls to spring into the aforementioned action.

I love this story very much but I am also inclined to agree with my aunt that from a legal perspective the ‘baptism’ of my grandmother was not a valid one.

Any insight on this is much appreciated.

If it was done with water, and it was trinitarian formula, it may have been illicit, but it was valid.

1 Like

Thank you. Could you define “illicit”?