Beethoven

Do you listen to his music?

Do I listen to his music? I love his music!!! :slight_smile:

I have two complete sets of the symphonies, one Cleveland orchestra with Georg Szell, one Chicago Symphony with Sir Georg Solti. I still prefer the Cleveland Sound. Symphonic music is my favorite classical form, and Beethoven’s are my favorite symphonies, Eroica- 5th, and 9th but I like them all.

At age 13 in 1964 when my contemporaries were listening to the Beatles, I was listening to Beethoven. The very first LPs I was given on my 13th birthday were Leonard Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic playing Beethoven’s Symphony # 3 and a collection of Claude Debussy’s La Mer and other of his works conducted by Arturo Toscanini. I still have both albums.

Do I listen to him (them) now? Not much. My tastes have changed - grown or developed. My interests are now the early Baroque period and before.

I have explored all of Beethoven’s music. And no, I am not a professionally trained musician. I still can’t sight read music and I’ve sung in a cathedral choir for 18 years.

But I know what I like. And here 40+ years later, I have roamed the halls of “classical” music. I couldn’t stand a cappella music in my teenage years until I sang it.

So, Tom explore! Nothing wrong with Ludwig Von…He’s a great starting point! Open your ears and enjoy!

Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, 4th movement (I think)

“Ode To Joy” (Ode an die Freude)

Be embraced, you millions!
This kiss for the whole world!
Brothers, beyond the star-canopy
Must a loving Father dwell.
Do you bow down, you millions?
Do you sense the Creator, world?
Seek Him beyond the star-canopy!
Beyond the stars must He dwell.
Whoever succeeds in the great attempt
To be a friend of a friend,
Whoever has won a lovely woman,
Let him add his jubilation!
Yes, whoever calls even one soul
His own on the earth’s globe!
And who never has, let him steal,
Weeping, away from this group.
All creatures drink joy
At the breasts of nature;