Being a Police Officer, Being a Catholic

I’m studying to be a police officer, I still have a long way to go. A question that was asked of me yesterday by a fellow catholic was about protecting protesters. As guaranteed in our constitution, we as Americans have a right to peaceful protest. Many protests are given protection by uniforms police officers to ensure the safety of the protesters. The question that was asked of me was, if I have to defend somebody protesting a cause which the Church does not recognize/support, or perhaps even the Church herself, would that be “supporting” that cause. I honestly didn’t know how to answer that question, and it had never crossed my mind until I was asked. I just said, I would make sure nothing gets out of hand, because ensuring safety is my only job. How would you have answered that question?

Your job is to defend. You can’t pick and choose who. If they are not breaking any laws, they have the right to that protection.

IMHO :smiley:

Your presence at a protest is to ensure the safety of everyone in that area and to help maintain the peace. Protesters are not the only ones who need protection. Often times it is the bystanders who need protection from the protesters. You would not be supporting the protest, you would be doing your duty as a police officer.

Pending manpower, you can always ask a superior if you can switch a duty, I would suppose.

I like what someone said where you are there for both sides, since there will be people around not a part of the protest that will be happy to see protection as well.

You are not supporting that which they protest for or against. You are supporting their right to do so.

if you were a firefighter and people are trapped in a burning building, even an abortion center, you don’t get to choose who to save or whether the building should burn.