Being confirmed apart from RCIA Easter Vigil

I am a baptized candidate in RCIA. I am starting to think I would like my confirmation before the Easter Vigil. I have been in RCIA since October but I feel I am ready and don’t want my confirmation in a packed Cathedral in downtown Detroit. I am 55 and unmarried and don’t want all that. I want to be confirmed and I really want Holy Communion. I also have not yet received first communion. I’m not wrong for wanting a more private confirmation am I??

Following.

I highly doubt I’ll ever convert, but if I did I wouldn’t want it during Easter either. I’d prefer it much more private.

I’m also not hot on the sponsor requirement.

You are not wrong in wanting this. However, in practicality, it may not happen. Is Confirmation done by the bishop in your diocese, or has he delegated it to a priest. I’m no expert, but I thought this could only be done for grave reason. The only way to know is to talk to your pastor.

Congratulations on your upcoming Sacrament.

Pray on it. We must endeavour to do the Will of God, not our own will.
The Easter Vigil is an exquisitely beautiful and joyous Mass.

Please talk to your priest. In some diocese, the priests do them all individually at the individual parishes and can confirm someone during a regular mass.

But in some dioceses the Bishop wants to confirm everyone himself.

The priest might say “OK” no problem.

However, the priest might also say “no” for a reason that might seem silly to you, but please pray on it.

One thing I will say though… I’ve attended the Easter Vigil at our Cathedral here in Philadelphia before and it is a very powerful mass. I wish I was getting confirmed with them at the Cathedral (I’m 41).

Hearing all of those people chat prayers during the Baptism is powerful, even for those not getting baptized.

So if you have the opportunity to be baptised by the Bishop, in the Cathedral, on the Easter Vigil - you would actually be very lucky in my opinion.