Being Threatened for Being Catholic

Hello fellow CAF members:

I am a college student and recently, one of my classmates told me of her plight:

Even though both of her parents are Catholic, she has family members who are Muslims–radical Muslims. They have made threats against their lives and have said they plan on killing them for their beliefs if any action is taken against them in the form of the authorities. I seriously doubt she is making any of this up, since she was almost in tears when she told me. She does not know what to do and asked me for my advice. I looked up some things in the Catechism, but I have nothing particularly helpful.

She said that she has spoken to a nun whom she trusts and has prayed in front of a shrine to St. Anthony, but she said nothing has helped, and no one’s advice has worked.

Can anyone help me help her with her situation?

Anything is appreciated.

I am curious. Are these people making threats against persons other than there own relatives? Are they making threats against their relatives because of them being Catholic? What I’m getting at is if this is a situation involving terroristic threats, the authorities must be involved.

I agree with you, but she seems turned off to the idea since she said her life is on the line. She did not say if they were the only ones being threatened or not.

Have her contact her Bishop’s office. They may have someone on staff who can provide the proper advice and procedures.

It really doesn’t matter. Threats are threats. Anyone who says “Don’t tell on me or I will hurt you” really means, “I will hurt you.” By not telling, she is complicit in the threats and should something dire happen, and by chance she lives to tell about it, she would be in trouble also. It’s called willful blindness.

:shrug: I guess that is her choice, but I will see what she says if I word it carefully.

What does the bishop know about dealing with terroristic threats? I say leave him out of it.