Believing in God

I need some help. First off let me explain a little bit about myself. I was raised Catholic sort-of. I never went to Mass as a kid with my family. I eventually went to Catholic school because I got kicked out of Public school. I was a punk back then. I graduated high school and join the Marine Corps. I served 4 years going to Iraq twice. I am now married and have a beautiful daughter. My wife and I go to Mass every now and then. My daughter loves to dance to the music. I read the Bible mostly every night. I pray through out the day. I usually ask for forgiveness and say thanks for my blessings but, I still have great doubt that there is a God. I want to believe but, I always find a reason why there couldn’t be a God. I am asking for any suggestions on how to have faith. I hear of people who have had profound experiences with God and I am envious of these people. Why is it so hard for me to believe and have faith. I’m at the point of giving up and living my life as an atheist. Thank you for your time and hope to hear from many people.

It depends somewhat on how you approach things generally, but I think a safe bet would be to say that if you want to experience God, then it would help to spend more time with him. So more frequent mass attendance, and perhaps some time in front of the tabernacle.

Beyond that, varying approaches will effect different people to different degrees, simply because different people put more weight on different sorts of things. You may try attending group prayer meetings or retreats, or working with a Catholic charity, or immersing yourself in study of Catholic thought, or pursuing the various devotional practices that exist, or some combination.