Best Bibles

Just asking for opinions and what others do. I like the KJV NT and basically read it. For the OT I read the jewish tanaukh. What would be the best OT bible to read to read our 7 non-protestant books of the OT? I’m not crazy about the NAB but I’m open to opinions.

If you like the KJV, have you thought of a Douay Rheims translation?

Billcu1: Since I studied Hebrew (eons ago!) I have found the Douay-Rheims Bible as the most accurate as well as beautiful to read. Uses older English, just as the very poor translation of the KJV does, but is much, much more accurate & an excellent translation from the original documents in Hebrew & Greek. Also follows well with the common language spoken by Jesus and His disciples. You may be able to check a copy in a local library, or certainly could find one to check out by reading some verses in your local Catholic Book Store or Gift Shop. I use only the Douay-Rheims now, it is very beautiful, an accurate translation. Of course, all translations lose a bit just from translation, but this version is as close as you can get to the original language. I just don’t like the modern language versions, they lack the beauty of the original Vulgate or Hebrew.

The best bible is the one you’ll read.

You can maybe find a KJV with the “apocrypha” if you like that (still wonder how anyone likes that version:shrug:)

I have been using the RSV and I like it a lot.

Oh and get familiar with an NIV if you do a lot of apologetics with Evangelicals. When they can’t even answer verses in that version it is hard for the, to keep battling :smiley:

If you like the KJV, look up the Douay-Rheims. It’s more or less the Catholic equivalent.

Besides that, though, I recommend the Ignatius Bible (RSV-2CE). It’s the one I have with me at college.

The RSV-CE is a direct descendant of the King James; that’s probably the best option for you.

Would all those knocking the King James like to back up their opinions?