Best Colleges?

Hello, I know it may be early for me to start thinking about it, but I would like to start planning for graduate school. My majors (Philosophy and Latin) almost require me to get an MA and PhD in order to get a professional-level job. I am a Freshman in the Honors College at Ball State (I also need to start thinking of the Senior Thesis, which is generally started in the second half of the Junior year).

I am leaning towards philosophy to continue my studies (even though I love Latin, because I can still study and use the language on my own - or that is at least what I tell myself). I have looked at the University of Steubenville and was . . . unimpressed. Their theology program seems more appealing. While theology interests me and I could speak on it for hours, I am hesitant to step forward into such a field for a master's degree. I think it would be even more limiting than philosophy, although I would enjoy being proved wrong! I have also looked at Boston College (which I did not know was Jesuit until just recently - I thought it was a secular university for some reason), whose philosophy program impresses me more and actually has a language requirement (2 for the doctorate - from where am I going to pull out the other language if that's common across the board?)

Your recommendations? I just need something to get the juices flowing :). Thanks!

PS: If you can't tell, I'm a 'planner.'

You may like to consider Princeton princeton.edu/gradschool/about/catalog/fields/classics/ although for their Classics Ph.d you need more than Latin for languages.

Philosophy princeton.edu/gradschool/about/catalog/fields/philosophy/

Princeton has a very active and orthodox Catholic community based around the Aquinas Institute which is the chaplaincy theaquinasinstitute.blogspot.com/

Princeton are very generous with financial aid for undergrads, I don’t know enough about the graduate programs.