Better ways to "follow" the mass

Hello all.

This is my first post in these forums although I’ve been a frequent visitor.

I am a undergraduate college student in South Dallas and the parish I attend on a daily basis for noon mass is a Spanish speaking parish. The entire mass, including the collect and readings, is in Spanish.

Currently, I have the entire missal in pdf form including the readings on my phone. When I leave my apartment to walk for church, I just take my phone and a spiritual reading book. Usually, I just open my phone and read the readings on there during the mass. However, I feel like this gives the impression that I am checking twitter or email instead of following the Mass. I also use my phone for prayers after mass and etc.

I was thinking that it might be time to invest in a physical missal or missalette subscription to use during the mass.

I like Magnificat because the daily reflections are orthodox and historical and the art is beautiful. It’s also really lightweight. However, I never use the morning/evening prayers as I have my own regimen for those times of prayer. Also, I find it very hard to dispose them properly in a dignified manner. I also don’t like that they don’t include prayers for before and after mass, making my carry another prayer book or use my phone after mass to look them up.

I was also thinking about purchasing a full daily missal, like from MTF or St. Joseph’s or somewhere else. I like both of them (except the weight of the MTF missal) and could see myself using either of them.

So, what do you guys recommend for a college student on a budget? Callphone, Magnificat, or fat missal.

Thanks in advance.

If money is an issue (and once, a long, long time ago, it was with me - I was putting myself through a private university), then unless someone has said something to you or given you “the Look”, your phone would make the most sense.

Next would be the Magnificat.