Bible Sumerian contreversy

Hello I'm new to catholic answers.

I have a friend that told me that the bible is based on Sumerian text,
Is this true? how can I defend the faith. PLEASE HELP!!!

Ummm you might need to be a bit more specific, the Bible’s a pretty long book (or more correctly, collection of books). I don’t think you mean anything like the Gospels or historical texts or psalms. I assume you mean some of the accounts in Genesis, e.g. the Creation story or Flood?

Welcome to the forums.

[quote="Ddelanswer, post:1, topic:328004"]

[/quote]

On an assumption that reference is made to stories in Genesis of persons and events such as Noah and the Flood, it makes much sense to suppose that other people, as well as the Hebrews, would have a collective recollection of events handed down orally from great antiquity. This serves to reinforce the veracity of the stories, rather than debunk them. The inspired authors used these stories to teach fundamental truths about God and Man and the relationship between them. In this light, one considers everything true without being overly concerned with a degree of vagueness of chronology or preciseness of description in the telling. The Bible is not a history book, not a scientific treatise, not a police blotter. It is the inspired word of God, told in the idiom of the people and times of it's writing. It speaks to us as clearly to them, as we are informed as to the nature of it as revelation. Such is my humble understanding of it and I'm sure others can add more from greater learning.

[/quote]

Welcome :wave:

[/quote]

Bill1940's post is great for alleviating any concerns you may have. Scripture must always be taken in context.

I would add, however, that the assertion that "the bible" is based on "Sumerian text" is an assertion that your friend is making, therefore the burden of truth lies on him/her. You can hardly "defend the faith" when you aren't even given anything to back up your friend's assertion.