Billings Method

I have been using the Billings Method since March 2007. My brother in law and his wife just got married and are using the symptothermal method. That’s fine with me, but what is upsetting me is that they keep telling my husband that we need to use the method that they are using and that the Billings Method is not as reliable. They also say that in their classes they have been shown charts that show them that the billings method has been unreliable, and in some cases, the only thing that would have saved them from a pregnancy is the tempreture. I am pregnant and happy about it, but it was a result of my husband and I ignoring the fact that I was unwell at the time, and instead of seeing the doctor we let it go. So it’s not something to blame the Billings Method for.
Does anyone else use the Billings Method here?

I use Billings, but I haven’t studied any other method so I really can’t compare. Knowing myself, there is no way I would remember to take my temp. at the same time every day. I also have irregular sleeping (at least recently) since my son has been sick so I think temps. would be thrown off.

I find it’s whatever works best for the couple. NFP’ers should be supportive of each other no matter what method is used. It’s hard enough without debating about which method is better.

Thank you. I agree, I do not debate it with anyone which is a part of the reason why I am rather upset and feel that I have to defend my choice.
I am probably overly emotional since I am pregnant.
Thanks again.

I used the Sympto-Thermal method before I got pregnant. I didn’t trust my judgment on mucus so I really depended a lot on the temperature. But that’s just me. Some women can get manage just by looking at their CM. I can’t. I still have LOTS of learning to do. If you feel confident in the method you use and are happy with it then that’s all that matters. Armywife is correct, all NFP’ers need to support each other!