Binary Thinking

I recently heard of the term “binary thinking” and I would like some Catholic input. Binary thinking is basically “black & white” thinking, while ignoring any possible grey areas. Could this also be related to absolutism in morality? Example: I am a Catholic criminal psychologist and I believe torture and murder are always wrong. How could I critically evaluate a psychopath who takes pleasure in these acts? Does it make sense to evaluate a possible origin of this person’s behavior to better understand why they did what they did? Like to say “monsters are made, not born”?

Hopefully this makes sense, I’m not sure what to make of binary thinking and how it relates to Catholic thought. I believe we shouldn’t judge others, but we should hate their sin. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

God Bless

Cognitive distortions like “binary thinking” aren’t really meant for that sort of application. They’re not absolutes where, say, everything that exhibits a binary dichotomy is bad. Rather, they are markers of certain errors people tend toward. They’re best approached as indications that, if you find yourself thinking a certain way, it’s good to step back and take another look at how you’re thinking and make sure you really are being accurate.

They’re also more applicable to personal decisions than to general philosophical principles about the world. A better example of binary thinking is a guy thinking “I either have to marry this girl, or be alone all my life.” That’s not the case, and settling into that binary can make him very miserable. But, for example, someone in an abusive relationship might think “I need to get out of this relationship or I’m going to be miserable”, and they could be right.