Birth control for health reasons?

Hi all,

I’m a 20-year-old college student currently studying abroad. Right before I left the States in August, I went on birth control for medical reasons. The last couple of years, I’ve had severe cramps and a heavy flow that began to interfere with my ability to function in school, my jobs, and social situations. I also experience headaches, backaches, dizziness, and nausea. Basically, it’s the worst week+ ever. After talking to my doctor, she prescribed a specific dosage of BC to help clear up these problems. So far it’s been amazing. I feel like I have my life back.

My question is, what happens when I get married someday? Do I have to stop taking the BC, even though I’m using it for medical reasons?

I’m sorry if this question has been answered already. This is just a situation I want to consider carefully. Thank you!

I’d say wait until marriage is on the horizon before worrying about it. Who knows, there may very well be some kind of medical advance by then to cure the problem. Why rush ahead?

Meanwhile, do what you have to do to cope. It’s not a sin to take the Pill for medical reasons.