Blind Priest? and Other Matters

I’m going through RCIA. I’ve done so much searching for several years, and feel like I’ve finally arrived at the truth. I feel very strongly about this and am so excited and enthusiastic about it.

My question might seem to be coming out of nowhere, especially since I’m still only going through RCIA, but I have this feeling that logically seems preposterous, but is persistent anyway. I’ve been studying religion since I was about 10 years old. It’s always played a huge part of my life, even if I wasn’t Catholic. I get this feeling that once I am Catholic, I would want to do as much as I can for it. This might include priesthood.

Again, that seems preposterous, to me too, because I’m currently studying physics and math in college, and am in my second year of it. But things keep happening that point me to this same conclusion.

So, regardless of if it is so or not, and I realize I have a lot to go through before I can even think about it very much, I have an important question in that regard. I’m totally blind, and have been since I was four years old. So, I wonder if a blind person can be a priest? That is, I’m not sure if there is anything in particular that would be impossible for a blind person to do in that position.

I feel ridiculous asking this, since I’m still so new to Catholicism and I’m jumping so far ahead, but the thought is persistent.

By the way, this isn’t to say I’m new to the Bible, at all. I have read the Bible through before, and have studied several Protestant denominations. It’s always been very important to me, but I could never find peace with any Protestant denomination. The theology class I’m taking this semester (it’s required, as this is a Catholic university), did a lot to have me take another look at Catholicism, especially since the professor, who is a priest, has been great about answering my many questions.

I really appreciate any help and advice anyone could give on these matters.