Blue light, red light?

being a protestant, i don’t understand this. i’m a truck driver and i’ve been all over this country. in my travels, i’ve seen quite a few billboards that have a picture of jesus (or mary) with what appears to be two streaks of light radiating from the heart; one is red and the other blue. does this have something to do with the immaculate heart thing? or is it something else? thanks!

the pictures (or statues) you see of Jesus may be an older image called the Sacred Heart, in which He is dressed in a white robe with a red mantle, His heart is exposed and surrounded in light, and there may be a stream of red and of white (or light blue) streaming from His heart. The “streams” represent the flow of blood and water gushing from his side when the soldier pierced his side with a lance, and indeed, a person who has just died from crucifixion will have been asphyxiated, the pericardium will be full of fluid, and blood and water will gush out if the side is pierced. In religious images of Jesus the blood represents his sacrifice through which he saves us from sin and death, and the water represents our death to sin and rising to new life with Him in baptism. The heart of course represents his love for us and is exposed to show that all have access to his love and mercy.
the image of the Sacred Heart was painted according to description given by the saint who had a vision of Jesus in this way.