Board Games for Christmas

I want to get a board game for my little 9 year-old cousin for Christmas. I was thinking of the classic board game "Life" for her. Any thoughts? What are some other good ones?

Sorry, this probably belongs in the popular media section.

We loved playing this one.

amazon.com/Ravensburger-26448-Labyrinth/dp/B00000J0JF

It is a very sturdy game although the box hasn't held up over time. It is easy to learn and fun to play with 2 people or up to 4.

Does she have older siblings or younger ones? This game can be played by adults too. It's quite strategic and really makes you think.

How about a children's version of Scrabble? That's a great game to start learning at 9. When I was about 9, I started playing Scrabble with my mom and grandmother - they would pair up with my sister and I and teach us the game in teams.

They make really nice versions of Cranium for kids/preteens. That game is awesome - it combines artistic, theatrical, and academic talents. It's best for a small group.

Good luck!

I'm not nuts about Life, because the spinner breaks. Still, it is a classic.

I guess I'd ask her parents, and bounce ideas off of them. Who is she going to play these board games with? Does she like competitive games? Does she like thinking games or games of chance? Does she have some avocation that she'll want reflected in the game: horses or pink with glitter or some sports star?

Our twins always had someone to play with, since they both like board games. Still, they like playing against a parent even better. They started playing chess and monopoly by the time they were nine. (It's actually great to learn chess when you're quite young, since people are actually still young enough to see it as a board game, and not an entrance exam into Mensa.) There are many classic games such as Parcheesi, checkers, backgammon, and so on. If she's a thinker, those are more fun than games of chance such as Life.