Book Recommendations re:Saints

Mods … please feel free to move this to the proper area. I’m STILL learning the CAF forums.

DH told me he wanted some books for Christmas, namely, books about saints. He has already read two books … the names escape me,of course, but one was apparently the foundation for the Mel Gibson movie. (once again, the name escapes me – sleep deprivation is cruel to the brain!)

Any suggestions??

Thanks!

The book you are thinking about is likely St. Anne Catherine Emmerich’s The Dolorous Passion. But since he read that already, you’re probably looking for other recommendations. :slight_smile:

If you’re looking for books written about the saints, here are some good ones:
[LIST]
*]The Incorruptibles by Joan Carroll Cruz - a look at those saints whose bodies are, or heave been at one time, incorrupt
*]Married Saints and Blesseds Through the Centuries by Ferdinand Holbock - as the title suggests
[/LIST]

If you’re looking for books written by the saints, here are some good ones:
[LIST]
*]The Story of a Soul by St. Therese of Lisieux - her autobiography; it is a remarkable book and one of my personal favorites
*]The Confessions of St. Augustine - his remarkable conversion story; there are many translations and I’m not sure which is the best one or what the main differences are (sorry!)
*]The Autobiography of St. Teresa of Avila - another great autobiography of another great saint; her other books The Interior Castle, The Way of Perfection, etc. are also very good
[/LIST]

Hopefully one of these will help. If not, I can recommend others. :slight_smile:

Thank you so much! He did read the St Catherine Emmerich book while he was in RCIA. He’s an avid reader, as much as one can be with a house full of children!

Loved your recommendations, and I’d love to hear more, as you have time. I’m making a list. :thumbsup:

One of my favorite books about Saints is My Life withe the Saints.