"Breaking the Ice" at Church

I’m really uncertain as to where I can post this question, so I apologize ahead of time if I’m in the wrong forum topic. It does relate to my living as a Catholic. :heaven:

I have been attending my Catholic church for 4 years now. People do not make eye contact with me. I’ve wondered if it’s because I’m in my late 30s and unmarried. I am friendly and courteous to all, however I can’t seem to make any Catholic friends in my own town. The church really doesn’t have a welcoming commitee. We still have the same priest, however I don’t feel like I can talk to him about this situation. I’m not sure if I’m doing anything wrong at this point.

Someone once told me church is “not for socializing”. But ~ how does not being social with other like-minded individuals help the community?

Should I try a different Catholic church?

Thank you. ^,^

Different forms of this question have been asked on this forum and the answer usually is the same: Perhaps you need to become more involved with your parish. Once you do volunteer work or join a prayer group or some other church group, you may connect with people in a different way. Quite honestly, I believe that most people ARE there for mass and may happen to see people from the church they know through school or prayer groups etc. but I am not sure how many friends you will make just by going to mass. If your parish does not have a group for people your age, maybe you could start one. If they do not have a coffee hour after mass, perhaps you could be the person to start one even just once a month. :slight_smile:

I’ve noticed that you’re saying things like “other people won’t make eye-contact with me…i’m not comfortable talking with the priest…”

Maybe YOU need to break out of your shell and take the initiative to meet people and introduce yourself and talk with them–including the priest.

Waiting for someone else to make the first move means you’re putting YOUR options into that person’s hands!