Bringing up the topic of faith on a date

Hello CAF, I have a big question before my first date ever. My friends have set me up with a very nice girl who they say is “nice, wonderful, and looking for and old fashioned guy like me”, I wanted to ask:

1. Is it appropriate to talk about each other’s faith on the first date?
  2. How do I bring up the topic without sounding like a fanatical weirdo?
  3. And if she turns out to be outside of the faith, should/can I date her?

I am new to the catholic faith (I haven’t started RCIA yet) but I feel very strongly about my faith, and I want someone who I can share both my love and faith. Peace be with you all, and have a marry Christmas!

[quote=
]

For your first question there is nothing wrong with discussing it on a first date, and some times your conversation will go in that direction on it’s own. You really just need to play it by ear though.

1. Again if you end up in areas that could lead to you discussing the fact you are in RCIA in your free time or such you could bring it up that way, and then proceed to ask if she attends church. I personally can’t think of any other ways then using your RCIA as part what is going on in your life as a segue, but others might.

2. First off yes, you can date her there are no rules against that. As to should you that is entirely a personal decision. It will provide some tension due to differences in beliefs and IF you were to end up getting married it would require talking in terms of raising children. But my mother married a Lutheran and they worked out just fine and I was raised a fine Catholic. So, it really depends on you. However, you should probablly focus more on getting to know her as a person first and then move on to what her faith is. If this ends up being your only date with her then the answers don’t really matter. I wish you the best of Luck.
    [/quote]

Hi Link!