Buying house before marriage

Another random question here…

Cohabitation isn’t allowed. Does the Church say anything about buying a house before getting married (even if you don’t live there w/fiance)?

If only one of you lives there (and there’s no overnight parties for two :p) then I don’t see why not. Some things are going to require advance planning. Housing is often one of those things.

I would not suggest doing so as a couple.

I am not a lawyer so that is not my area from the legal aspect.

One reason is that one must be* free *up to the last moment in getting married…

You do not want a “hey we have a house already” hanging over your head.

Not a good idea. All sorts of things, both good and bad, can happen before you are actually married. It’s better to wait.

Apart from the moral issue, it is just not wise for a variety of reasons.

I should have added:

If YOU want to buy a house, in your name only, go right ahead. But don’t co-mingle money & debts before marriage.

And same for your intended spouse. After marriage, one house can be sold or rented out (if you can deal with that - I can’t).

What’s the rush? it’s far easier t qualify for a house with 2 incomes. :coffeeread:

Not at all. The Church does not expect one to live with parents or roommates or in an apartment until marriage. If you want one and can afford it, there is no reason to put off buying a house; prices are low now and you can take your time to look for a good deal.

Go for it!
It eliminates one of the biggest stress factors of young married couples. It will allow you time to focus on other issues.

“Cohabitation” is a euphemism. It is not a sin in itself to live under the same roof, or even to sleep in the same bed. It’s usually a near occasion to the sin of “cohabitation,” of course… which is habitual fornication with a person with whom you are in some kind of stable romantic relationship with. Or something along those lines.