Buying "second-hand" ebooks - a form of stealing/copyright infringement?

Hello folks. I’m a student, one in a business-related field, where the textbooks are exorbitantly expensive. Naturally I make use of used book pages and resources to save money. Increasingly people have offered to “sell” me used ebooks for prices drastically below what I could pay per hard copy ($200 CDN/pop is normal). My first reaction is that this is an obvious case of copyright infringement, hence stealing, hence immoral. Is there anything that I haven’t thought about that would make this legitimate?

How so? It may be against a publisher’s policy but unless they have some contract with you that they can take you to court for breaking, there are absolutely no worries about that. I see it no different as buying an actual book second hand, as long as it’s not just a copy of an “ebook” that can be constantly sold and resold by the seller without the publishers receiving their just compensation (which they wouldn’t receive when a used book is resold anyways).

Since that’s how a “used” ebook is made, it is depriving the publisher of its just revenue.

This is just like any other stealing.

No more than buying used record albums, used DVDs, or used paper books.

When someone buys these things, they own them to do as they wish with them, including transferring them.

The only stealing/CR infringement issue would be if they were reproduced (in paper or electronically), and the copies sold.

If the seller owns the ebook in the first place, and if he destroys his own copy once the buyer has his copy, then there is no theft, no more than if a paper book had changed hands. The number of copies has not increased.