Cafeteria Catholics: why don't they go to the Episcopal Church?

I’m really interested in hearing the responses of any cafeteria Catholics if there are any here. I’m kind of new to the Catholic Church and I’m wondering what the mindset of the cafeteria Catholic is.

To my understanding, the Episcopal Church is the cafeteria Catholic’s dream. It’s what they wish they could make the Catholic Church into if they were pope: abortion, divorce and remarriage, artificial contraception, homosexual actions and the “gay lifestyle” all are approved. Plus there’s a liturgy that looks similar to the mass, bishops, priests and all that. I’d imagine there’s some talk of Jesus there too if the cafeteria Catholic is fond of him.

Why would a Catholic stay within the dusty confines of the outdated/sexist/homophobic/etc. Roman Catholic Church when he or she could find a warm welcome in the Episcopal Church? Why would the cafeteria Catholic try and change what he ought to know will not change and has never changed? Is it because the cafeteria Catholic was brought up in the Catholic Church by believing parents and therefore has a certain attachment or nostalgia for it? Is it because the cafeteria Catholic was never taught what the Church actually teaches?

I personally wasn’t brought up Catholic, and I’m just really curious to know why this phenomenon of cafeteria Catholicism exists.

It’s interesting though…what I usually see instead of what I’m suggesting here is the cafeteria Catholic simply becomes a practical atheist when he or she gets tired of going to an institution with beliefs to inimical to theirs. Professing to be driven by his or her precious conscience, the cafeteria Catholic instead of remaining a follower of Christ simply gives up on Jesus. I can only guess that to them, the culture of death, the gay agenda and social approval is more important than Jesus.

Thoughts?