Calvinists/Presbys - Explain TULIP

I don’t know how many Calvinists there are on this forum, since it is a Catholic forum after all, but I thought I’d ask…

I have a Calvinist friend and I’m trying to understand his theology… I’m not an expert on predestination, since it is not really all that prominent in Catholicism, although I was quite fascinated by it a couple of years back and I had read about it, though I’ve forgotten much of what I’ve learnt.

I’m going to explain my understanding or misunderstanding of TULIP and my reservations, and I hope that you can correct me. I personally don’t intend to argue the Catholic point of view because I don’t know it well enough, though people with all views on predestination are welcome to contribute or argue their points. I’m only giving details of my objections so that you can better see how I’m understanding these things. Scripture is good - I like Scripture, so do use it if you think it’ll help.

Now, here’s TULIP in my understanding:

Total Depravity
Man is sinful because of the fall. He needs God’s grace to please God.

This seems pretty much true - man through his free will has chosen sin and deserves eternal punishment. Faith is a gift of grace. I have doubts about the “Total” part. On one site it has also been described as man’s “freedom” so totally “enslaved” by sin that he can only “choose” what is evil. I have reservations about that. What about “free will”?

Unconditional Election
God has chosen those whom he will save based solely on His will.

Seems to make sense. Some people seem to be holy all their lives and reject God before death, whereas others repent moments before death. Therefore God’s foreknowledge of one’s deeds has nothing to do with election. God is, however, just, because all the people whom he does not elect deserve damnation as a result of their rejecting Him through their own free will, and God, being the Creator of all that is has the liberty to show mercy to whom He pleases.