Can a gynaecologist force you against your will?

Can a gynaecologist force you to have a vaginal procedure, book it even when you have told her no multiple times , when your condition require regular stomach surgery?

Ladies only answers please…and no mean answers please, if you need any details ladies please pm me, i seriously need advice, its frightening and worrying me how she wont listen when ive said no

No physician can force you to do anything, no procedures, no drugs, no nothing. You have the right to say no to anything the doc tells you or suggests for you. I am a nurse, and patient rights are a huge thing,.

I’m also a nurse,
my suggestion would be to get a second opinion, from another medical practitioner.
You have the right to refuse any medical procedure.
Perhaps your gynecologist isn’t a good listener, and doesn’t really understand that you’re refusing. Perhaps she feels as if the treatment she recommends is the only wise one. In any case, a second opinion might be helpful.

I’m a little concerned by what you mean “force”? Are you saying that she will “fire” you as a patient (going through all the necessary legal paperwork to no longer provide care for you) if you do not get the procedure done?

If that is the case, I would highly encourage you to find not only another GYN, but also look for a gastroenterologist if you feel your condition requires stomach, not pelvic, surgery or treatment.

No. But do you mean that you have two options: vaginal surgery or abdominal surgery? If so, the doctor probably is encouraging the vaginal surgery because your recovery will be easier. Still, you have the right to refuse. But know the doctor may refuse to perform the surgery abominably, leaving you to find a new physician.

Yes! Ive told her no several times and she booked the procedure anyway, i was told i would need stomach surgery so its distressing that shes doing this

She wont let me have a choice…im seriously thinking of putting in a complaint about her