Can a lay person become a Catholic Police chaplain

So I’ve been doing security for 4 years and Feel I’m ready to go back to college and take it seriously after droping out and working the last 5 years. I am going to enroll soon to get my Criminial Justice degree BA and then I want to go into the seminary. Not to be a priest because I’m married and not to be a deacon because I don’t feel I’m called to do that. I want to go because I feel God is calling me to go to seminary and to get a good Christian and Catholic education and to grow in my faith. However I do feel that I want to go into ministry just not in the traditional sense. More working outside in the world dealing with all Christianw but still remaining dedicated to the Church. Kinda like a missionary only working in my own city in rural areas aposed to third world countries. I’ve thought about giving ready to eat canned food to the homless and giving them Bibles. My father in law Sugested why not be a police Chaplain. I told him I don’t think lay people can. He aparently says there are lay people that are. He was at one point a nazarene pastor and he worked as a trauma nurse and ER nurse for close to 20 maybe or
30 years I could be off. He still works as a nurse but he just works at a clinic with a General Practionar. So I trust he might be right. But I’m wondering if lay people cane be Police Chaplians and how they go through that process. I’m going to speak to my Confessor tomorrow if he’s there more about me going to seminary if I should or not. My father law says if your called to seminary you should listen. Its some I feel I want to do and its the best way for me to get Catholic theological education and help with the Church.

Last I knew, even deacons couldn’t be chaplains, at least in the military. I think part of the issue is the need for a chaplain to administer absolution in the event of an emergency or tragedy. Perhaps the requirements are different for civil police.