Can a person "quit" Catholicism?

I know it sounds silly, but once you have been baptized in the Catholic Church, can you ever “quit” it?

I know one can convert to Judaism, but does the Church consider you not Catholic anymore?

What about if you decide to switch to the Episcopal, or Lutheran church?

What if you decide you are atheist?

Depending on the answers, I have follow up questions…

(P.S. I am not thinking of leaving the Church, I just have questions based on things I have read here and from other sources)

As I understand it (but I am by no means an expert) the Church would still consider you Catholic unless you are excommunicated. Losing one’s faith or having doubts in it I don’t believe are grounds for excomunication.

Baptism leaves an indellible mark on the soul. That can never be removed regardless of future choices. Can one leave the faith? Of course. But when that person decides to return to the faith then they pick up where they left off. If all of the Sacraments of Initiation were received then all one needs is Sacramental Confession and they can return to the Eucharist.

I don’t claim expertise either but as I understand it, even excommunicated Catholics are considered Catholic. They can not receive the Sacraments except for reconciliation. Nor could a known excommunicated Catholic serve in a parish capacity such as being a lector at Mass But they’re still considered Catholic.

I don’t understand how that is. However, since I’m not Catholic yet and have no intentions of becoming excommunicated after I am hopefully I’ll never need to understand the intricasies of it :slight_smile:

Teach, are you basically saying they of course can leave/quit the practice of the faith but are still considered Catholic, though perhaps non practicing? This is what a former bishop of mine once told me.