Can anyone suggest a nice gift from RCIA sponsor to Candidate?

Hi,:heaven:
Can anyone suggest a nice gift from an RCIA sponsor to their Candidate? I’m thinking of some things, (New Bible, Rosary) but wonder if there are any other suggestions a bit out of the ordinary. The lady I am sponsoring is a wonderful mother and grand-mother (her family is still Protestant but some of them are attending Holy Saturday. When I converted in 2004, I received a lovely Cross. I’m still learning myself, and this is my first time as a sponsor. It’s been a wonderful year!
Blessings and thanks,:angel1:
Kathryn Ann

A nice Rosary, if they are so inclined.
A hardcover bible - the Ignatius bible is excellent
Catholicism for Dummies

Oh, thank you, the Ignatius Bible sounds like a wonderful idea. I hadn’t thought of that! (I’m afraid the “Dummy” book might sent the wrong message though,(!) :blush: but thank you. Perhaps a Rosary and the Ignatius Bible. :angel1:

When I was confirmed I was given (not by my sponsor but by a family friend) a copy of The Imitation of Christ. We had already been given Bibles and rosaries as part of the RCIA programme so those weren’t options! A book of common prayers might also be a good idea, they can be found pretty cheaply.

Hey! I have a copy, and just ordered two more! Actually, many RCIA programs use the Dummies book (I think that every one of them should), and it may be used as a catechism, since it carries the nihil obstat as well as the Bishop’s Imprimatur. Every Christian should have a copy. I learn from mine each time I open it.

The thing is, that RCIA is only a partial explanation of the faith. Had I a copy of this book in my RCIA, I would have been much clearer on Catholic teaching, and could have avoided many errors and sins.