Can deceiving someone out of a job opportunity be mortally sinful?

I’m a college student. A few weeks ago I decided to apply for a position in the university that they needed students for. The only thing was they only had three spots for guys, it’s very competitive and I have a good friend who I think would be more qualified than me for the job and he was thinking about applying for it too. The same person that encouraged me to apply for the job encouraged him to also. I knew that if I told him I was applying for it he would want to apply for it too, and I couldn’t let that happen cause I knew that there was a very good chance he would get it over me since he is more qualified. Since I had no idea how many guys were applying and he is more qualified than me I wanted as little competition as possible. I hid the fact that I was applying from him, but I freely told my other friends I was applying since they wouldn’t apply anyway and I saw my friend as a threat to my chances of getting the position. he ended up not applying after all and I was pretty happy about that.

A few days ago both of us were in a group setting with a bunch of my friends that were aware that I had applied, it came up in conversation and he found out(I wasn’t that worried though cause applications had closed and I already had an interview scheduled) Then later out of the blue he told me that he wished he had applied for it and that if he knew I had applied he would have

As soon as he said that I was overcome with guilt because I had strategically avoided telling him so that my chances of getting the job would stay good, when he would have probably applied

I didn’t start thinking it might be mortally sinful until recently but now I feel as though I was being selfish, greedy, and I was deceiving him and my scupulous self is telling me that maybe it was mortal too.

Is this mortal sin material?